Skip to main content Skip to search
Feature Type:
2nd admin unit (Bhutan-Gewog)

Semjong has five Chiwogs made up of five villages. According to oral accounts, because the mountains of the valley stand like dancers, the place was first called Zheym-Jong, meaning the valley of dancers, but due to degeneration in pronounciation, today it is better known as Semjong.

  • སེམས་ལྗོང་། (Dzongkha, Tibetan script, Original)
    • sems ljong (Dzongkha, Latin script, THL Extended Wylie Transliteration)
    • Semjong (Dzongkha, Latin script, Dzongkha Transcription)

Place ID: F5565

Geocode Name: Royal Government of Bhutan Code, Code: rgb

Latitude: 27.02774; Longitude: 90.17429

GIS Resources (feature alone)

GIS Resources (including contained features)